Student Councils

Your Students’ Union is a student-led organisation which means that you decide what the Union does, how we work and have the opportunity to shape our priorities and approach. One of the ways you can do this is via our Student Councils. We have a campus student council at Lampeter, Carmarthen and Swansea campuses and, in addition, an overall Students’ Union council. More information about these can be found in the tabs below.



Campus Councils

Carmarthen, Lampeter and Swansea campuses all have their own student councils. These are made up of our elected student volunteers (Part-Time Officers), elected full-time officers (Sabbatical officers), student representatives from each Faculty and our elected Student Trustees. Each of these meetings are chaired by the Group President. Any student can attend and suggest ideas for campaigns, policies and events for their campus and they are also a chance for students to ask questions of their elected representatives and find out more about current issues and forthcoming events.

Meeting Dates and Agendas (Coming Soon)



Union Council

Union Council the place where ideas, campaigns and policies that affect all students are discussed and where decisions are taken on behalf of the Students’ union as a whole. It is made up of 5 representatives elected from each Campus Council and the Full-Time Officers, and is chaired by the Student Union Council Chairperson, who is elected during the annual SU elections. Again, it is a chance to hold the officers to account, discuss ideas and is open to any student to attend.

Want to see what we’re working on? Click here for a progress update on your ideas.

Meeting Dates

Agendas (Coming Soon)



Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is main day-to-day decision-making body of the Students’ Union. Meeting monthly, it consists of the full-time officers (who make the decisions) and the three senior managers, who are there to advise them and update them on the work of the staff. It looks at everything that’s going across the Union and University and makes decisions on the budget, political issues and operational decisions.



Trustee Board

The Trustee Board is the highest decision-making body in the Students’ Union. It is made up of the Full-Time Officers (the sabbs), an elected student trustee from the Carmarthen, Lampeter and Swansea campuses and four external trustees who are appointed for their expertise in finance, HR, community organising or other areas relevant.

The Board is there to ensure that we as an organisation are working within the law, within our budget and to the best of our ability. They meet three or four times a year and have a number of sub-committees who focus on particular areas.


Download the minutes

13th October 2016

24th April 2016

14th January 2017



Rachel Whitty (Chair) (External Trustee)

Rob Simkins (Group President)

Josh Whale (Lampeter Campus President)

Charlie Jones (Swansea Campus President)

Anya O'Callaghan (Carmarthen Campus Student Trustee)

Suzette Hase (Lampeter Campus Student Trustee)

Charlotte Coleman (External Trustee)

Carl Harries (External Trustee)

Rhys Taylor (External Trustee)






CSS Dump